Rep. Sykes Selected Co-Chair of Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission

Representative Vernon Sykes (D- Akron) was selected Co-Chair along with Speaker William G. Batchelder (R- Medina) at the first meeting of the Constitutional Modernization Commission. The bi-partisan Commission is made up 12 members, each caucus in the House and Senate appointed three members to serve, and the commission will now select 20 Commission members not from the General Assembly.

“I encourage all who are interested to apply because it is important that this Commission be as broad and diverse as this great state.  I look forward to hearing from citizens around the state and working with my fellow Commission members to improve Ohio’s Constitution,” said Rep. Sykes.

The Commission will consider problems pertaining to current amendments of the Constitution and will promote an exchange of experiences and suggestions with regards to desired changes.  All proposed changes must be approved by two-thirds of the commission members in order to be presented to the General Assembly, which would then have to pass them by three-fifths majority to place them on the ballot for Ohio voters to approve. The Commission will present its first report to the General Assembly as early this fall.

The Commission members serve two year terms, to which they may be re-appointed.  The Constitution Modernization Commission will last for ten years and will dissolve once its work is complete, on or before July 1, 2021. The 12 legislative members met for the first time this week and will now be accepting applications to fill the remaining 20 spots. Interested applicants should send a letter of application and their resume to each of the Co-Chairs at the addresses listed below. The Commission will be accepting applications through January and will select members in mid-February.

State Rep. Vernon Sykes
77 S. High Street
10th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Speaker William G. Batchelder
77 S. High Street
14th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 962 other followers

Ohio House Dems on Twitter!

Twitter Button

%d bloggers like this: